The Gayton governing body is responsible for the strategic management of the school.  It ensures accountability to the local community, and acts as a 'critical friend', supporting the headteacher and deputy head, who are responsible with their senior staff for day to day management. The governors determine the school budget, set attainment targets for the pupils each year, recruit the headteacher and deputy head, and are responsible for the headteacher's annual performance management.

Through the work of a series of sub-committees, as well as visits to school by governors with specific responsibilities, the governors develop a good understanding of the operation of the school, and can advise the head on any aspect of the school's work.

The Full Governing Body normally meets six times a year.

Gayton governors re-constituted in 2020 and now comprises of governors appointed or elected in the following categories:

  • 3 Parent Governors - Nominated from amongst and elected by the parents and guardians of children at the school. 
  • 2 Staff Governors (including the headteacher) - Nominated from amongst and elected by the school staff.
  • 5 -opted Governors - Appointed by the governing body.
  • 1 Local Authority Governors - Appointed by the Local Authority. 
Any Communication for the Chair of Governors is to be sent to the school office, FAO Lisa Mann & Lindsay Cowan (Co-Chairs).